Watauga County Teachers Of The Year Announced

Watauga County Schools has named its 2023-24 teachers of the year — one from each school in the district.

The group was selected from a group of more than 300 teachers district-wide at all grade levels.

This year’s group includes Pam West from Bethel, Brittany Bolick from Blowing Rock, Kylie Bolick from Cove Creek, Sierra Jackson from Green Valley, Amy Atkins from Hardin Park, Amy Thomas from Mabel, Kari Riddle from Parkway, Shelby Hatton from Valle Crucis, Erik Mortensen from Watauga High School and Ashely Brown from the Watauga Virtual Academy.

Each school’s teacher of the year will receive an award of $350 from the school system and is automatically a candidate for Watauga County Schools Teacher of the Year, to be announced in May.

The Teacher of the Year will receive an additional $350 from the school system.

Local businesses will also be given an opportunity to donate gift certificates or other prizes to help recognize teachers of the year.

Businesses or individuals interested in making a donation this year are encouraged to contact Human Resources Director Stephen Martin or Public Information Director Garrett Price at (828) 264-7190. 

Pin It

Print   Email

GoBlueRidge.Net and High Country Radio is proud to offer five radio stations with content created specifically for the High Country. All of our stations are live and local and provide the latest news and information from our community.

Upcoming Events

22 Sep 2023;
08:00AM - 05:00PM
Autumn at Oz
22 Sep 2023;
08:00AM - 05:00PM
Ghost Train
22 Sep 2023;
08:00AM - 03:00PM
Outdoor Culinary Adventure with Susi Gott Seguret




Boone, North Carolina