Chronic Wasting Disease Confirmed In Wilkes County, Ashe, Alleghany Added To Surveillance Counties

Chronic Wasting Disease has now been found in Cumberland and Wilkes Counties.

Chronic wasting disease (CWD) is a transmissible, always fatal, neurological disease that affects deer and other cervids such as elk, moose and reindeer/caribou.

As a result of the recent confirmations, the North Carolina Wildlife Commission  has established new primary and secondary CWD surveillance areas for the 2023-2024 hunting season.

Primary surveillance area counties are Cumberland, Stokes, Surry, Wilkes and Yadkin counties.

Secondary surveillance area counties are Alexander, Alleghany, Ashe, Bladen, David, Forsyth, Guildford, Harnett, Hoke, Iredell, Robeson, Rockingham and Sampson counties.

You can get more information on Chronic Wasting Disease and changes for these counties online at

Pin It

Print   Email

GoBlueRidge.Net and High Country Radio is proud to offer five radio stations with content created specifically for the High Country. All of our stations are live and local and provide the latest news and information from our community.

Upcoming Events

22 Sep 2023;
08:00AM - 05:00PM
Autumn at Oz
22 Sep 2023;
08:00AM - 05:00PM
Ghost Train
22 Sep 2023;
08:00AM - 03:00PM
Outdoor Culinary Adventure with Susi Gott Seguret




Boone, North Carolina